David Woodward 196x99

美国文化交流协会:帮助人们沟通世界

“随着越来越多的中国学生和教师团队来A.C.E.语言中心学习和进行定制培训,A.C.E.计划 通过与中国教育部门的合作稳步发展与中国的联系。”

-大卫•伍德沃德,文化交流协会*(A.C.E.)总裁兼首席执行官

大卫•伍德沃德是文化交流协会(A.C.E.)的总裁兼首席执行官。他拥有33年专业国际领域工作的经验,包括23年在国际商务管理、咨询、教育交流项目和全球客户服务等领域担任高级管理人员的经历。他于1980年加入A.C.E.,并于1998年成为总裁兼首席执行官。

伍德沃德先生领导了A.C.E. 在各种创业和教育项目的发展,涵盖了美国和世界各地的小型企业、大学、公司和政府机构。

伍德沃德出生于伊朗德黑兰,在伊朗南部度过了他的青年时代。在华盛顿大学就读期间,他曾获得国际资源机构在近东语言与文明领域的奖学金,他还曾在科威特大学教授英语。

伍德沃德能说流利的阿拉伯语、波斯语和法语,并曾从事希伯来文和希腊文研究。他是美国商务部华盛顿州区域出口委员会成员、西雅图扶轮社成员、大西雅图贸易发展联盟顾问委员会成员、西雅图大学阿尔伯斯经济及工商管理学院全球商业顾问委员会成员、国际教育工作者协会中东小组成员,以及Taproot剧院顾问委员会成员。

*以美国文化交流(American Cultural Exchange)的名称开展活动,这是一个成立于1973年的501c3非盈利组织。

文化交流协会(A.C.E.)的主要工作是什么?

自1973年以来,A.C.E.一直致力于帮助个人和组织在世界各地不同语言和文化环境之间建立新的联系和人际网络。 A.C.E.的核心策略涉及语言和跨文化教育,包括:

  • 强化ESL英语课程在大学校园里的运作
  • 在当地学校针对学生的世界语言与文化大使课程
  • 跨文化课程
  • 学术和职业准备服务
  • 为海外团体量身定制的培训计划
  • 国外高中课程
  • 会议管理
  • 教育活动
  • 咨询服务

您是怎样对国际教育感兴趣的?

我从小就对文化、语言等领域感兴趣。我的父母是美国人,我在伊朗出生,在那里生活到11岁,并接触到四种语言。因此,将国际教育作为我的职业是一个自然的选择。

我一边教授ESL英语课程,一边学习近东语言和文明,我为这种不断变化、国际化的工作而着迷。我非常幸运能在职业生涯早期加入A.C.E. 并和它一起成长。我十分惊讶我已经在A.C.E.工作超过30年。

您认为A.C.E. 在发展与中国的关系方面有什么机会?

虽然我没有正规学习过东亚语言和文化,但我所接触到的关于东亚的一切教会我, 东亚和中东之间有很多有趣的共同点,特别是在波斯语、文化和思维方式。毕竟,中国和波斯帝国做了1000年的领域,并有一直不断的贸易和交流。

个人而言,我很喜欢与中国人共事,我曾多次访问中国,并学习了一些中文短语。

随着越来越多的中国学生和教师团队来A.C.E.语言中心学习和进行定制培训,A.C.E.计划 通过与中国教育部门的合作稳步发展与中国的联系。我们最终希望将学生送到中国进行语言文化的学习。另外,我们希望能发挥作用促进两国在教育机构、政府机构和企业之间的关系,就像我们在世界各地所做的那样。

A.C.E.有哪些令人兴奋的教育交流项目?

我们正和蒙大拿州立大学合作,支持蒙大拿州和广西省成为姐妹州的倡议。我们希望通过教育交流促进两地发展更为广泛的关系。

自2005年以来,我们一直促进韩国教师在华盛顿州的英语培训,在此期间我们已培训了250名教师。在韩国,我们的主要合作伙伴是江原道(Gangwan Province)国际语言学院。

此外,自2011年秋季起,我们代表日本英语鉴定协会(STEP Eiken),在洛杉矶办公室为3000名日本外籍人士提供Eiken英语测试。这是日本全国性的英语等级考试,每年有二百万日本学生参与。

您认为美国企业在投资多元文化培训和教育方面有什么的变化吗?

美国机构在历史上有一种低估真正文化和语言的倾向,影响了它们自己的发展。最近几年中,我们看到不少大公司、小公司已经开始转变,更多地投资于如何在多元文化环境中开展业务的培训和教育。这无疑会有助于使美国企业更加具有全球竞争力。

您对那些希望取得成功的机构有何建议吗?

他们必须考虑非常长期的合作关系。在东亚地区不宜急功近利,而要尊重东亚各国关系以及对外关系的复杂性和深度。

我们看重那些能向我们引荐合适的人、机构和机会的专家。我们也尊重任何项目,即便是看似很小、微不足道或还在初级阶段的项目。一旦我们让合作者看到了诚意和承诺,很多机会将随之而来。

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

David Woodward 196x99

Associates in Cultural Exchange: Helping People Make Connections Worldwide

“Our organization plans to steadily develop ties across China through the education sector, with many Chinese students coming to study in A.C.E. Language Institutes and groups of professionals coming to the U.S. for tailored training.”

~David Woodward, President and CEO, Associates in Cultural Exchange

David Woodward is the President & CEO of Associates in Cultural Exchange* (A.C.E.), which he first joined in 1980. He has 33 years of professional international experience, including 23 years of senior management roles, in international business management, consultancy, and educational exchange programs and services involving clients from all major world markets. He became President and CEO of A.C.E. in 1998.

Woodward has led A.C.E. in the development of various business startups and educational projects involving small businesses, universities, corporations, and government agencies within the U.S. and in peer regions of the world.

Woodward was born in Teheran, Iran, and spent his early youth in Southern Iran. He received a National Resource Fellowship in Near Eastern Languages and Civilization while at the University of Washington, and taught English as a foreign language at Kuwait University (1982-83).

Woodward is fluent in Arabic, Persian, and French and has studied Hebrew and Greek. He is a member of the U.S. Secretary of Commerce-appointed District Export Council for Washington State, the Seattle Rotary Club, the Advisory Board of the Trade Development Alliance of the Greater Seattle Chamber of Commerce, the Global Business Advisory Board of Seattle University’s Albers School of Business and Economics, the Middle East Interest Group of NAFSA: Association of International Educators, and a member of the Taproot Theatre Advisory Board.

*DBA for American Cultural Exchange, a 501(c)3 founded in Seattle in 1973

Q: What does Associates in Cultural Exchange do?

A: Since 1973, A.C.E. has been helping people and organizations around the world create new connections and build interpersonal networks with those of other language and cultural backgrounds. A.C.E.’s Core Strategies involve language and intercultural education including:

  • Intensive English as a Second Language institute operation on university campuses
  • World Language & Culture Ambassador curriculum for children in local schools
  • cross-cultural orientation programs
  • academic and career preparation services
  • tailored training programs for groups from overseas
  • high school programs abroad
  • conference management
  • educational tours
  • consulting services

Q: How did you become interested in a career in international education?

A: I grew up interested in a range of cultures, languages, and subject areas. I was born in Iran to American parents, lived there to age 11, and was exposed to four languages. So going into a career in international education was a natural fit.

By following a dual track of preparation in teaching English as a second language as well as Near Eastern Languages and Civilization, I was drawn to work which was varied, international, and constantly changing. I was very fortunate to land with A.C.E. early in my career and also to be allowed to grow within the organization. It amazes me more than anybody that I’ve been with A.C.E. over 30 years of my career.

Q: What new opportunities do you see for A.C.E. to develop ties with China?

A: While I have not formally studied East Asian languages and cultures, my exposure to them has taught me that there are many fascinating commonalities between East Asia and the Middle East, especially in terms of Persian language, culture, and way of thinking. After all, the Chinese and Persian empires were neighbors for 1,000 years with constant trade and interaction between them.

On a personal level I’ve greatly enjoyed engaging with Chinese colleagues, visiting China on several occasions, and learning a few phrases of the language.

Our organization plans to steadily develop ties across China through the education sector, with a great many Chinese students coming to study in A.C.E. Language Institutes and groups of professionals coming to the U.S. for tailored training. Eventually we hope to send students to China for cultural and language study. In addition, we expect to play a role in facilitating relationships between educational, governmental, and private institutions in both countries as we have done around the world.

Q: What exciting cultural exchange projects is A.C.E. engaged in?

A: We are supporting a sister state initiative between the State of Montana and Guangxi Province in partnership with Montana State University. We hope this develops into a broad relationship through educational exchange.

We have been facilitating training of Korean teachers of English in Washington State since 2005 and have trained over 250 teachers over that time period. Our primary partner in Korea is the Gangwan Province International Language Institute.

Also, as of fall 2011, we now represent STEP Eiken of Japan in the U.S., providing testing in English via the Eiken test to 3,000 Japanese expatriates a year through our Los Angeles office. This is the national English test of Japan given to 2,000,000 Japanese students a year.

Q: What changes are you seeing in companies that invest in multicultural training and education?

A: U.S. organizations have historically had a tendency to undervalue real cultural and linguistic know-how, to their own detriment. In recent years we have seen a shift as large and small companies have begun to invest more in training and education related to doing business in a multicultural environment. This will no doubt help make American enterprises much more competitive globally.

Q: What advice do you have for others about how to be successful in this region or line of business?

A: One must think in terms of very long-term relationships. It is not advisable to be in a hurry in East Asia, but to be respectful of the complexity and depth of Asian relationships internally and with foreigners.

We rely heavily on experts who we know in guiding us to the appropriate people, institutions, and opportunities. We also appreciate any project, no matter how seemingly small and inconsequential, in the early phase of a relationship. Once we have established our seriousness and commitment, greater opportunities tend to come our way.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *