Christine Gregoire small

克里斯汀•格雷瓜尔回顾华盛顿州州长任期内的成就

“有了华盛顿州地方政府和州政府的支持,中国企业会发现在这里开展业务很容易。”

-克里斯汀•格雷瓜尔,即将卸任的华盛顿州州长

2005年至2012年,克里斯汀•格雷瓜尔成为华盛顿州第22任州长。克里斯汀•奥格雷蒂•格雷瓜尔在华盛顿州奥本(Auburn)市由做快餐厨师支撑家的母亲带大。

从奥本高中毕业后,她进入华盛顿大学,获得教学证书,以及演讲和社会学学士学位。1971年9月,她遇到了她的丈夫迈克•格雷瓜尔,当时他们都为华盛顿州社会和健康服务部工作。1977年,克里斯汀从贡萨加(Gonzaga)大学获得她的法学学位。

克里斯汀和迈克•格雷瓜尔有两个女儿,考特尼(Countney)和米歇尔(Michelle)。考特尼曾为两位美国总统的政府担任律师,目前在微软工作,她嫁给了斯科特•林赛。米歇尔目前就读于法学院。

格雷瓜尔州长表示,她希望竭尽所能为华盛顿州的人们提供实实在在的成果。格雷瓜尔州长有着高效的领导力和不知疲倦的工作态度。卸任之际,她回顾了她的许多工作成就。在这篇文章中,她谈到了华盛顿州和中国的贸易关系。

格雷瓜尔州长,请您分享一些您的任期内在华盛顿州和中国之间建立贸易伙伴关系的精彩故事。

华盛顿州与中国的贸易和文化交流有着悠久的历史,我很自豪能有机会继续维持并不断发展这种关系。在我的任期内,我曾参与过一些项目和倡议,不仅有助于加强我们与中国的现有联系,更能建立起新的伙伴关系。

其中最主要的是2010年推出的华盛顿州出口计划(Washington Export Initiative),该计划让华盛顿州出口企业数量增加了30%,帮助5000家华盛顿企业达到6亿美元的新出口销售额。

作为美国通往亚洲的主要门户,华盛顿州在中国的机遇及其对于整个美国的机遇,一直是焦点。2010年华盛顿州贸易代表团赴华访问,我们会晤了许多在中国有着成功经历的华盛顿州企业,包括一些清洁能源和信息通信技术的企业。我们参与了一些会议,并签署了谅解备忘录,以进一步深化在教育、科研、贸易、投资方面,特别是在农业、生物医药和生命科学领域的机遇。

我们参与了上海世博会的华盛顿州日,展示了我们的旅游资源。2010年的贸易代表团之旅促成了1000万美元的销售额。随着此行商业机遇的不断孵化,该数字将继续增长。

去年,我有机会参与了全国州长协会(National Governor’s Association)论坛,我发起了美国各州州长与中国各省领导之间的对话。

在贸易代表团帮助促进华盛顿州和中国贸易关系的同时,我们的商务部和农业部的日常工作,以及无数其他组织和华盛顿州朋友们的努力,也一起奠定了今天华盛顿州和中国良好关系的基础。

您认为这些努力将会带来什么样的成果?

华盛顿州的企业如星巴克、微软、波音、乐家杏仁(Almond Roca)等,已成为中国家喻户晓的名字。我们相信我们的努力将会继续扩大这个名单。

像宝开(PopCap)这样的移动设备游戏公司,已经在中国市场上取得了巨大的成功,他们成功的起点就是源于我们早期的一次贸易代表团。像英频杰(Impinj)这样的超高频射频识别(RFID)供应商,采用了华盛顿州商务部为他们提供的分销商搜索服务,这些服务为该公司带来了快速的销售增长,帮助他们提升了市场销售力。在2010年的贸易代表团中,有一家分布式能源系统的全球供应商Demand能源公司,该公司会见了中国合作伙伴,并计划在中国安装他们的系统。

以上只是一部分由于我们的努力使企业在中国取得成功的案例,未来我们将有更多的成功故事。

在科技产品和服务领域,什么是中国潜在的贸易机会?

目前中国的政策强调由创新引领发展。华盛顿州企业如果能谨慎地对待这一机遇,将会获益于这种需求。我们的企业是创新的领导者,尤其在信息科技、清洁能源技术和生命科学领域。

华盛顿州企业如Enprecis,一家为全球汽车行业提供反馈分析工具的提供商,曾使用联邦STEP(国家促进贸易和出口)资金补助,充分利用我们的中国加速器计划(China Accelerator program),低风险地进入中国市场。在过去一年中,他们已成功和中国主要的汽车公司签约并实施试点项目,现正计划进一步扩大规模。

像这样的成功案例还有很多,但关键是制定一个有效的中国战略来处理诸如知识产权和地方保护等问题。我们的州政府和联邦官员密切合作,为华盛顿州企业进入中国市场提供协助。

您对那些希望成功在华盛顿州开展业务的中国企业有什么建议?

我会鼓励中国企业领袖把华盛顿州视作美国创业和创新的中心之一。现在已经有不少中国企业选择投资华盛顿州,并充分利用这里的优秀人才和前瞻性的企业环境,这些企业包括迈瑞、艾德思奇、软通动力等。

我们有一个蓬勃发展的海外华人社区,可以为希望在华盛顿州开展业务的中国朋友提供无数商业联系。

有了地方政府和州政府的支持,中国企业会发现在这里做生意很容易。如果中国企业或企业家希望在美国做生意,美国商务部会为他们提供成功所需工具。华盛顿州在中国也有办事处,方便中国和华盛顿州的企业进行贸易交流,办事处员工会向您提供如何在华盛顿州取得商业成功的咨询建议。

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (3 votes, average: 3.67 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Christine Gregoire small

Christine Gregoire Reflects on Her Accomplishments as Governor of Washington

“Chinese companies will find it easy do business in Washington with the dedicated support of local and state government.”

~Christine Gregoire, outgoing governor of the state of Washington

Christine Gregoire served as Washington State’s 22nd governor from 2005 through 2012. Born Christine O’Grady, she was raised in Auburn, Washington by her mother, who worked as a short-order cook to support the family. She rode horses, picked blueberries and learned the value of hard work and a good education.

After graduating from Auburn High School, she entered the University of Washington. She graduated with a teaching certificate and Bachelor of Arts degree in speech and sociology. She met her husband, Mike Gregoire, in September 1971 when they both worked for the Washington Department of Social and Health Services. She received her law degree in 1977 from Gonzaga University.

Chris and Mike Gregoire have two daughters, Courtney and Michelle, whose achievements are both equally distinguished. Courtney is married to Scott Lindsay, and is an attorney who has served in the administrations of two US presidents and currently works at Microsoft. Michelle currently attends law school.

Governor Gregoire describes herself as striving to deliver real results to the people of Washington. She combines effective leadership with a tireless work ethic. As she leaves office, she takes time to reflect on her many accomplishments. In this article, she talks about Washington’s trade relationship with China.

Q: Governor Gregoire, please share some highlights of what you’ve done to build trade between Washington and China during your term in office.

A: Washington has a distinguished history of trade and cultural exchange with China and I am proud to have had the opportunity to maintain and enrich those ties. During my term in office I’ve worked on a number of projects and initiatives that have not only helped to strengthen our existing relationships in China but also to build new ones.

Chief among those is the Washington Export Initiative, launched in 2010 to increase the number of Washington state companies exporting by 30 percent and help 5,000 Washington businesses achieve $600 million in new export sales.

As a prime US gateway to Asia, opportunities for Washington companies in China and the entire region are a focus. During a 2010 trade mission, we met with many Washington companies that have success stories in China, including some in clean energy and information communication technology. We participated in a number of meetings and signed MOU agreements to further education, research, trade and investment, particularly in agriculture, biomedical and life sciences.

We participated in a Washington Day at the World Expo in Shanghai and showcased our tourism opportunities. More than $10 million in sales is attributed to that 2010 trade mission. That number is expected to grow as business opportunities seeded on that trip come to fruition.

I had the opportunity to return again for the National Governor’s Association last year, where I led the dialogue between US governors and the leaders from China’s provinces.

While these individual missions help promote trade between Washington and China, our efforts are also supported by the ongoing work of our Departments of Commerce and Agriculture, and the countless efforts of other organizations and friends of the State who have made Washington’s valued relationship with China what it is today.

Q: Where do you predict these efforts will lead?

A: Washington companies such as Starbucks, Microsoft, Boeing and Almond Roca are already household names across China. We believe that our efforts will continue to expand this list.

Companies like PopCap, a creator of games for mobile devices, have had tremendous success in the Chinese market and their story began with one of our earlier trade missions. Companies like Impinj, an RFID manufacturer, used Washington State Department of Commerce services for their distributor search. That assistance led to rapid sales growth and helped them establish of a growing sales force in the market.

On the 2010 mission, Demand Energy, a global provider of distributed energy systems, met and followed up with Chinese partners to plan for installation of their systems in China. These are just a few examples of how our efforts have led to successes in China and we have many more to come.

Q: What is the China trade potential for technology products and services?

A: Current policies in China stress innovation to help lead development. Washington companies can benefit from this demand if they adopt a prudent approach. Our companies are innovation leaders, especially those involved in information technology, clean energy technology, and life sciences.

Washington companies like Enprecis, a provider of feedback analysis tools in the automotive industry, have used Federal STEP (State Trade and Export Promotion) grant funding to take advantage of our China Accelerator program for a low-risk entry to the Chinese market. Over the past year, they’ve been able to secure deals and pilot programs with major Chinese automotive companies and are now planning to further expand their current operations.

There are many success stories like these, but the key is developing an effective China strategy to deal with concerns such as intellectual property rights and local protectionism. Our state government works closely with federal officials and with our companies to assist in this process.

Q: What advice might you give to those in China about conducting business successfully with Washington State?

A: I would encourage Chinese business leaders to look to our state as one of the leading centers for entrepreneurship and innovation in the US. We also have had a number of Chinese companies, ranging from Mindray and adSage to iSoftStone, that have chosen to invest in Washington and take advantage of our talented workforce and forward-looking businesses environment.

We also have a thriving overseas Chinese community and can provide numerous connections for our friends in China who want to establish a presence or conduct business in our state.

Chinese companies will find it easy do business here with the dedicated support of local and state government. If Chinese companies or entrepreneurs are looking to do business in the US, the State’s Department of Commerce  can provide them with the tools they need to succeed. Washington also has offices in China to facilitate trade and exchange between Chinese and Washington State companies, and the people in those offices can provide advice about doing business successfully here.

For More Information

Washington State Governor’s Official Website at http://www.governor.wa.gov
State of Washington Department of Commerce http://www.commerce.wa.gov/Pages/default.aspx

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (3 votes, average: 3.67 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *