Din Tai Fung logo

大卫•杨•瓦西莱夫斯基,鼎泰丰贝尔优店店主兼总经理

“作为台湾人,我自豪地把鼎泰丰这个品牌带到美国,希望架起两种文化沟通的桥梁,把这个品牌在美国继续发展壮大。”

-大卫•杨•瓦西莱夫斯基,鼎泰丰贝尔优店店主兼总经理

鼎泰丰是一个知名的国际品牌,在全球拥有近90家餐馆。华盛顿州贝尔优店是鼎泰丰在西北太平洋地区的第一家分店。它位于贝尔优东北大道700号(700 Bellevue Way NE)林肯广场二楼280。
鼎泰丰电话(425)698-1095;网址:http://dintaifungusa.com/

贝尔优中文网的两位编辑于7月底在贝尔优市的鼎泰丰内访问了其店主兼总经理大卫•杨•瓦西莱夫斯基。

David Wasielewski

您在什么时候成为了鼎泰丰的粉丝?

大约45年前,鼎泰丰在台湾从一个小店起步,发展壮大。而我在台湾长大,住在台北,那里几乎人人都知道鼎泰丰,并在那里用过餐——这情形就像在西雅图几乎人人都去过星巴克一样。

是什么促使你和鼎泰丰的创始人杨氏家族合作,在华盛顿州开了第一家鼎泰丰西北太平洋分店?

在我11岁的时候,全家移民到了西雅图,当时鼎泰丰正开始拓展国际市场。2001年我就读于西雅图大学并获得MBA学位。我的第一份工作是在加州圣克拉拉的英特尔公司,我在他们的营销部门工作了10年,领导一个负责英特尔全球渠道客户及其培训需求的团队。

由于我的中文背景,我主要负责亚洲市场,经常到亚洲出差,每次我都会到鼎泰丰就餐。无论我前往哪家餐厅,也无论我是在新加坡、澳大利亚或是中国,鼎泰丰的服务水准和食物质量都始终如一。
我并非某天醒来心血来潮告诉自己:“我要开个餐厅。”我一直对鼎泰丰的事业有着浓厚的兴趣,并希望参与其中。尽管餐饮业和我之前从事的IT业有很大的差别,但我积累的关于市场营销、品牌和商业机会的经验仍能运用于鼎泰丰的经营。我认为鼎泰丰拥有伟大的品牌和产品,如果美国人如果只能在出差去亚洲时才能享用鼎泰丰,这是非常可惜的。

作为台湾人,我自豪地把鼎泰丰这个品牌带到美国,希望架起两种文化沟通的桥梁,把这个品牌在美国继续发展壮大。

我认为鼎泰丰很适合在西雅图发展。我和杨氏家族会晤沟通了很多次,最终我成为了他们的合作伙伴,在开店期间,他们给予我很大的支持。

您对鼎泰丰在美国发展的愿景是什么?

我的愿景是向美国人提供地道的中国美食和优质的服务,就像鼎泰丰在过去40年里做得那样,同时结合美式餐厅的特点。

您如何对鼎泰丰贝尔优店进行适合美国市场的本土化改造?

在贝尔优市中心,你可以看到几乎每家餐厅都会有个餐厅酒吧,可是没有一家鼎泰丰分店有完整的酒吧。当我和杨氏家族谈及此事时,他们很开明,于是我们就在鼎泰丰贝尔优店设计了一个酒吧,既满足当地市场的需要,也不会喧宾夺主、削弱鼎泰丰餐厅整体“家”的感觉。

当初您为何会选择将鼎泰丰落户贝尔优?

我仔细研究了很多场地,贝尔优是我们的首选。过去五到十年里,贝尔优一直在飞速发展着,且未来几年发展速度仍将继续。此外,我们所选的贝尔优林肯广场位于华盛顿州最大的购物中心之一贝尔优广场对面,人流如织,停车便利。我们周围有威斯汀和凯悦酒店。位于我们楼上的林肯广场电影院是全国票房前五大的AMC影院。当人们前往鼎泰丰就餐需要等位时,我们会记录他们的电话号码,并采用短消息通知桌位,这样人们无需排队,而可以逛商场,或在所住酒店等候,缩短无谓等候时间。

鼎泰丰的顾客大多是本地人还是游客?

Din Tai Fung Bellevue

鼎泰丰有很多住在贝尔优/东区以及西雅图的熟客,也吸引了许多来自加拿大温哥华和俄勒冈州波特兰的游客。很多加拿大人特地在周末来到贝尔优购物和吃饭。我们也曾接到电话,一些从亚特兰大、波士顿或中国到西雅图来出差的人士告诉我们,他们正在来鼎泰丰的路上,让我们预定位置。

您的经营哲学是什么?

把一个成熟的品牌引入新市场,我把自己定位为品牌的保护者。我遵循鼎泰丰的“配方”——向顾客提供近乎最好的食物,确保顾客的体验始终如一。

我们90%的食物是从零开始手工制作,比如我们的小笼包和面条都是手工擀制。正由于此,我们对人力资源的需求巨大。我们拥有近200名兼职和全职的员工,平均每个工作日接待约1500名顾客,而到了周末则每天要接待约2400名顾客。

培训和激励员工,使他们了解我们的期望,以及如何做到最好,是一个巨大而持续的挑战 。我从不惧怕投资我的员工。不像一些餐厅由一个服务员服务八桌客人,我们每个服务员只服务四桌客人。我们有很强的团队合作精神,当一个服务员特别忙的时候,旁边区域的服务员或是经理会上前帮忙。

你会经常看到我或是我的管理团队帮忙点单、清理脏盘子和结账。我和服务员们除了穿着不同的衣服,我们做的事情是一样的,当我为你服务时,你不会意识到我是老板。

开业两年半,是什么让鼎泰丰变得如此成功?

当你来到贝尔优市中心,会有很多就餐选择。有约15家餐厅离鼎泰丰仅一步之遥,有50余家餐厅离鼎泰丰仅一个街区。

我们保持谦虚的态度,努力工作,竭尽所能为顾客提供始终如一的用餐体验。这些体验不仅包括美味佳肴,还有用餐环境等。我们聘用了一位全职的洗手间清洁工,每15分钟清洁一次男女洗手间,给顾客提供清洁的用餐环境。

我们没有在广告上花一分钱,所有的顾客都是靠口碑相传,每个顾客都是最好的广告。

您有没有计划在普吉特湾地区再开一家鼎泰丰分店?

我们将于2013年11月在西雅图的大学村附近开设第二家分店。新店将位于一幢新开的六层楼购物中心的二楼。

您对想在贝尔优/西雅图地区做生意的亚洲商人有何建议吗?

贝尔优提供了巨大的投资机会。这里的客户群多元化,且具有一定的经济基础。这里有强大的亚洲顾客群,非亚洲裔顾客也有着开放的态度,喜欢尝试新事物。

那些对在贝尔优经商感兴趣的人士可以与当地政府部门人士会晤,了解如何在美国、华盛顿州和贝尔优市做生意的法律和规则。有些在中国简单易行的事情可能在这里并不行得通。

鼎泰丰在贝尔优的开业获得了来自社会各界广泛的支持。我们很高兴能成为贝尔优社区的一部分。

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (6 votes, average: 4.00 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...

One thought on “大卫•杨•瓦西莱夫斯基,鼎泰丰贝尔优店店主兼总经理

  1. Hi, I’m Karen, a journalist from Business Today, a financial magazine in Taiwan.

    I like this article very much and hope to make one like this, but it’s not easy for me to find a way to contact DAVID YANG WASIELEWSKI, the owner of DIN TAI FUNG in Bellevue. Therefore, i would like to ask if possible the author of this article can help me to get the email or phone number of DAVID YANG WASIELEWSKI. Many Thanks for your reply.

    Karen

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Din Tai Fung logo

David Yang Wasielewski, Owner of Din Tai Fung Dumpling House in Bellevue

“This is what my native country can offer, and I can bring that to the U.S. I can help create a bridge between the two cultures and make the brand bigger, better, and more popular in the states.”
 ~David Yang Wasielewski, Owner of Din Tai Fung Dumpling House in Bellevue

Din Tai Fung is a well-known international brand, with nearly 90 restaurants globally. The Bellevue, Washington store is the first in the Pacific Northwest. It is located on the second floor of Lincoln Square at 700 Bellevue Way NE #280.

Call (425) 698-1095 or visit http://dintaifungusa.com/.

In this video, David Yang Wasielewski, owner of the Bellevue Din Tai Fung, talks about his vision for the brand:

YouTube Preview Image

The BellevueCN.com editors visited Din Tai Fung in Bellevue and chatted with David Yang Wasielewski, owner and general manager.

Q: When did you become a fan of Din Tai Fung?

A: Din Tai Fung started around 45 years ago as a small, single store restaurant in Taiwan. I grew up in Taiwan and lived in Taipei, where everybody knew about Din Tai Fung and had eaten there – similar to the way people who live in the Seattle area have probably been to Starbucks.

Q: What prompted you to partner with the Yang family to open the first Din Tai Fung in Washington State?

A: My family immigrated to Seattle when I was 11. After I moved to the U.S., Din Tai Fung started to expand internationally. I attended Seattle University and graduated with an MBA degree in 2001. My first job was at Intel’s headquarters in Santa Clara, California. I worked for 10 years in their marketing department, leading a team that focused on taking care of Intel’s global channel customers and their training needs.

Due to my Chinese background, I primarily focused on Asia, and I traveled to Asia a lot. Every time I went there, I’d go to a Din Tai Fung. No matter which store I went to, whether it was in Singapore or Australia or China, the service level and food quality was consistent. You always know what you’re going to get when you walk into a Din Tai Fung.

I didn’t wake up one day and say, “I want to start a restaurant.” I wanted to be in the Din Tai Fung business. Although the restaurant business is different than being a marketing manager for a high-tech company, I approached it from the understanding of marketing, branding, and business opportunity. I thought, “Din Tai Fung is such a great brand and product; it’s a shame people in the U.S. don’t have the opportunity to enjoy it unless they travel to Asia.”

As a Taiwanese citizen, I can proudly say, “This is what my native country can offer, and I can bring that to the U.S. I can help create a bridge between the two cultures and make the brand bigger, better, and more popular in the states.”

I felt Din Tai Fung would fit well in the Seattle area. I met with the Yang family several times, and we reached an agreement that I would jointly partner with the corporation. They are great people to partner with; they have given us a lot of support, and they are very, very good at what they do.

Q: What is your vision for Din Tai Fung?

A: My vision is to provide the authentic Chinese food that Din Tai Fung has offered for the last 40 years, and their standard of service, but to run it as an Americanized restaurant.

Q: How did you localize the Bellevue restaurant for the American market?

A: In downtown Bellevue, you pretty much have to have a bar in your restaurant. None of the other Din Tai Fung have a full bar. When I approached the Yang family about this, they were very open-minded. We put in a bar that doesn’t dominate the restaurant or take away from the “family” feel.

Q: Why did you locate the restaurant in Bellevue?

A: I thoroughly researched several locations and Bellevue was the number one choice. Bellevue has experienced tremendous growth during the past five-to-ten years, and the city continues to grow. Our space in Lincoln Square is across the sky bridge from Bellevue Square, one of the largest shopping malls in the state of Washington. Plus, Bellevue Square has free parking.

We’re surrounded by two major hotels, the Westin and the Hyatt. The Bellevue Lincoln Square Cinema above us is one of the top five AMC movie theaters in the nation, in terms of sales.

I like the fact that we’re in an indoor shopping mall complex. When guests come in and we have a 45-minute wait, we use a text message system to notify them 10 minutes before their table is ready. They can find a parking spot, shop at the mall, or settle in to their hotel room. When we text them, they stroll back to Din Tai Fung and their table is ready.

Q: Are your customers locals or tourists?

A: We have a lot of regular Bellevue/Eastside customers and lot of regular customers from Seattle.

Din Tai Fung Bellevue

We’re also a destination restaurant. We draw people from Vancouver, B.C. (Canada) and Portland, Oregon. Canadians, in particular, come to Bellevue for the weekend to shop and eat. We also get calls from people who have just flown into Seattle from Atlanta, Boston or China – they tell us they’re heading our way and ask us to reserve a table.

Q: What is your business philosophy?

A: I wanted to create a restaurant that serves authentic Chinese food versus creating a Chinese restaurant. In introducing an existing brand to a new market, I see my job as being a protector of the brand. I follow the Din Tai Fung “recipe” – to provide the best possible food, and to make sure that the experience for our customers is consistent.

We make over 90 percent of our food ourselves, from scratch. We make the dumplings and noodles from flour and water and eggs; we mix it in the dough machine and hand-wrap the dumplings.
Because we make everything from scratch, our manpower demand is huge. We have close to 200 part-time and full-time employees who serve an average of 1,500 customers per day during the week and 2,400 customers per day on weekends.

It’s a huge, ongoing challenge to train and motivate the staff so they understand what is expected of them and know how to do it. I’m not afraid to invest in our people. Unlike some restaurants that assign one server to an 8-table section, we have two servers for each section. We work as a team, so when a particular server gets busy, the server next to them will help out, or the manager will help out.

You’ll often see me and my management team taking orders; cleaning dirty plates off the tables, and running credit card payments. Other than the fact that I wear different clothes than my servers, you wouldn’t know that I’m the boss. I believe that the CEO is only as good as the team he leads, and so we focus on working as a team.

Q: How has the Bellevue Din Tai Fung become so wildly successful after only 2 ½ years in operation?

A: When you come to downtown Bellevue, you have a lot of options. There are probably 15 restaurants on the corner where we’re located, and nearly 50 restaurants within a one-block radius. When you’re hungry, it’s either the steakhouse or us; Italian or us; hamburgers or us.

We stay humble, we work hard, and we do whatever is necessary to make sure our customers have a good experience when they come here – the same good experience every single time.

And that doesn’t just include serving delicious food. We have a full-time bathroom cleaning lady who cleans the men’s and women’s restrooms every 15 minutes. We understand that when you go to a restaurant, you want to go to a clean environment. And the restroom is part of the restaurant.

I have yet to spend a penny on advertising. It’s all word-of-mouth. And word-of-mouth is the best advertising money can buy.

Q: Do you have plans to expand Din Tai Fung to other parts of the Puget Sound region?

A: We’re opening a second location in Seattle’s University Village in November 2013. We’ll be located on the second floor of a new, six-story structure that has retail on the first two floors and parking on the top four floors.

Q: What tips would you offer to business professionals in Asia who might want to do business in the Bellevue/Seattle area?

A: Bellevue offers great opportunities to invest. The client base here is diverse, sophisticated, and wealthy… and they appreciate authenticity and good value. There is a strong Asian clientele, and non-Asians here are open-minded about trying new things from Asia.

People interested in doing business in Bellevue should meet with the local authorities and understand the rules and regulations on how to do business in the U.S., in Washington, and in Bellevue. Business practices in Asia are different than in the U.S. What you think might be easy to do in China may or may not even be available or allowed here.

The support we’ve received from the community has been unbelievable. We are happy to be part of the Bellevue community.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (6 votes, average: 4.00 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *