DavisWrightTremainelogo

孟维则:帮助中国企业家对接美国市场

“在中国,你需要投入时间去了解潜在的商业合作伙伴。”
-孟维则, 合伙人,Davis Wright Tremaine律师事务所

简历:

孟维则是Davis Wright Tremanine律师事务所西雅图办事处的合伙人、国际公司法律师,曾在中国工作过12年。他能说流利的普通话,曾被国际权威杂志《亚洲法律》(AsiaLaw)评为电子商务、IT&电子商务、信息技术、IT&通信等领域的亚洲“杰出律师”,

Fraser Mendel

Davis Wright Tremaine’s 中国律师团

1993年,Davis Wright Tremaine成为第一家被授权在上海开设代表处的美国律师事务所。其在上海和美国代表处的律师们紧密合作,为不同时区的客户提供灵活的服务。

Davis Wright Tremaine律师事务所的客户有来自传统制造业和服务业的地方企业和跨国企业,也有来自新开放的产业,包括分销、零售、新技术、互联网和媒体、电子商务、环保和清洁技术、金融和专业服务、广告、房地产、建筑、医疗保健、投资基金。

了解更多关于Davis Wright Tremaine律师事务所的中国业务领域:
http://www.dwt.com/practices/china/?op=overview&ajax=no

下载“中国对美投资”白皮书:
http://www.dwt.com/files/Uploads/Documents/Publications/CHINA-Fact%20Sheet%20China%20to%20US.pdf



您是什么时候开始对中国感兴趣的?

1984年,我在加州波莫纳学院(Pomona College)读一年级时,开始学习中文,并且爱上了这门语言。这是我认识中国的起点。之后我获得了亚洲研究的文学学士学位,专注于研究中国问题。

求学期间,我花了一个夏天到台湾学习,就是那次旅行让我决定了以后要返回台湾工作。从学院毕业后,我在旧金山工作了一年,到1989年,我买了一张去台湾的机票。我的规划是,当我的中文达到专业水平后,就回到美国读法学院。

通过您的学习和职业经历,您是如何延续对中国的关注?

在台湾的头两年,我曾成为一份电脑杂志的记者。1991年,我回到了家乡西雅图,在华盛顿大学法学院获得了法学博士学位和中国历史文学硕士学位。

就读研究生期间,我得到了两份奖学金,支持我在1992年和1993年的夏天进行学习和研究。于是我花了6个月,在国立台湾大学研究宪法解释如何支持司法改革,以及法律改革如何与成功的土地改革紧密相连。

1995年,我在纽约大学攻读税法的法学硕士学位,研究重点主要是中国和国际商业交易。

您于1996年迁至北京,并在那里生活了12年。这段时期您主要从事什么工作?

我先在一家法律咨询公司做律师,代表一些从事高度管制行业运营的国际公司,如广播电视、卫星通信和钻石开采等领域。我们帮助客户弄清楚如何进入中国市场,如何在中国复杂的监管环境下做生意。

之后,我进入一家加拿大律师事务所的北京办公室,在那里工作了两年,帮助来自电信和基础设施领域的客户。2000年,我加入了一家总部位于旧金山的大型律师事务所-美富律师事务所(Morrison & Foerster)的北京办事处,在那里工作了八年。在此期间,我重点代表一些拥有重大知识产权的公司,如科技公司等,并在中国开展了风险资本融资的业务。

在2000年,我的95%的工作是为国际公司服务,5%为在国外经营的中国公司服务。

2008年您搬回了西雅图?

我回到西雅图既有个人原因也有专业的原因。从个人方面来说,我希望我的孩子们能有机会在西雅图和西北太平洋地区成长。虽然我喜欢在中国工作,但我也希望能享受西雅图周边的美景,享受充满活力的艺术、音乐和娱乐氛围。

从专业角度来说,当时的我正为越来越多赴美建立分支机构或并购美企的中国公司服务,他们有的想获取技术,有的想进入美国市场。我回到西雅图后,就能顺理成章地帮助他们在美国继续拓展业务,同时也协助美国客户进行国际化经营。我工作的很大一部分涉及到并购、风险资本融资,以及技术交易。

由于我在中国学习、工作的经历,我在华盛顿州国际商业圈里十分活跃。我是华盛顿州中国关系委员会副主席,该委员会是北美历史最悠久的旨在拓展美国与中国商业联系的机构。我们与许多在中国运营的美国公司以及到华盛顿州来的中国公司进行合作。

我也积极参与到西雅图贸易发展联盟、华盛顿州国际贸易委员会和亚洲商业论坛等机构中,所有的这些机构都是为了更好地促进中国和华盛顿州之间的贸易和投资。

您于2011年作为合伙人加入Davis Wright Tremaine在西雅图开展业务后,还经常去中国吗?

虽然我在西雅图,但几乎所有我的工作都是跨境业务。我有正在中国做项目的美国客户,也有在美国做项目的中国客户。这意味着每年我都要到中国出差6-8次会见客户。我会说普通话,熟悉中国商业规范,了解中国人怎么做生意,因此对我来说,代表中国企业家在美国开展业务是一件水到渠成的事情。

有一群能说流利的中文的律师是不是Davis Wright Tremaine律所中国团队的一大特点?

当然,我们在上海的办事处拥有十多位能说流利中英文的中国律师。我也和一些位于西雅图、波特兰、旧金山、洛杉矶的中国律师合作,他们都在美国获得法律学位。我们的中国律师团有杰出的能力代表中国公司开展业务。

Davis Wright Tremaine律师事务所拥有丰富的处理国际跨境业务的经验?

我们有超过20年的在中国开展业务的经验。多年来,我们的客户有各行各业知名的大型美国公司,也有大型中国企业,比如中央电视台。2012年初,中央电视台在华盛顿特区开设了第一家美国广播中心。

我们也代表在美国投资的中国企业家,我们的目标是让中国企业家和其美国同行的对接更容易,协助中国公司处理收购美国公司的各项事宜。

Davis Wright Tremaine律师事务所此前拥有一位著名的合伙人,现在他在中国几乎家喻户晓,他就是美国驻华大使骆家辉。在完成华盛顿州州长任期后、成为美国商务部部长前,他在我们律所工作多年。

您觉得在中国和美国做生意有何区别?

在美国,人们有一个约定俗成的想法,那就是:制度总能起到作用。这意味着,每个人都有个假设-商业交易将顺利进行,出问题只是例外。即使有问题,人们总是预计会有个公平、合理和直接的做法来解决。

比如,如果一家美国公司想向另一家美国公司出售10万美元的部件,卖方会确认买方公司的信用评级,然后双方形成业务合作关系。信用评级的鉴定是由一家第三方独立公司操作,因此很容易知道买方公司是否合法。如果在交易中出现了问题,每个商人都知道法律制度能提供直接了当的解决方案来解决问题。

在中国,没有简单的第三方独立检查机构来核实公司的信用评级,即便是该公司仍在正常营业,仍有可能出问题。因此有必要在建立合作伙伴关系之前,动用资源做好尽职调查。这种方式的好处是,一旦合作关系建立了,交易可以更快速地进行。

那些习惯了美国制度的公司,往往会发现在中国做生意有点儿别扭,交易成本会变高。在中国,你必须花时间了解你的合作伙伴。那些不愿意花时间了解中国客户或中国商业惯例的美国公司最后往往面临高风险的交易,甚至失败。

您对那些关注中国知识产权问题的美国公司有何建议?

在中国,进行商标权和专利权的执法具有挑战性。因此,很多美国公司怀疑,“为何我们要浪费时间和金钱在中国注册专利和商标?”

在美国,我们把知识产权视为一把剑——当有人侵犯你的权利时,你能用它进行回击;同时知识产权也是保护你的盾牌。虽然中国保护知识产权的法律制度在不断完善,问题仍然存在。如果你怕麻烦不在中国注册你的商标或专利,而一个中国公司在中国注册了该知识产权(即使你在美国拥有这个知识产权),该中国公司仍能起诉你侵犯知识产权,你将无法在中国销售你的产品。底线是:如果你不在中国注册你的商标和专利,你将失去很多权利。

请您分享您在中国工作生活最美好的故事。

我记得当年我是一个19岁的大学生,中文说得还不利索,在台北旅行时迷了路,天气炎热而潮湿。我拿着一张地图,站在台北街头,尝试找到去学校的公交线路。一个穿着西装、商人模样的人问我:“有什么可以帮你吗?”他的英文说得不比我的中文好,但他还是主动问了。

他带着我走了两个街区来到公共汽车站,领我上了公交车,告诉司机我在哪里下车,还帮我付了车费。我当时想,“这是怎么回事?这个人对我真好!95华氏度的高温,95%的湿度,他还穿着西装!?”

我知道很多人在台湾有相似的经历。去年,我和我妻子在西雅图遇到一个来自北京、在西雅图完成学业的汽车销售员,他在台湾旅行时,有着和几乎我极其相似的经历。我们互相分享着几乎一模一样却相隔30年的故事。这个故事就像一份快照,说明无论你在何时访问中国,你都将感到宾至如归。

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (2 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

DavisWrightTremainelogo

Fraser Mendel: Paving the Way for Chinese Businesspeople to Interface with their American Counterparts

“In China, you need to invest time getting to know the potential business partner.”
~Fraser Mendel, Partner, Davis Wright Tremaine LLP

About Fraser Mendel

Fraser Mendel, a partner at the law firm Davis Wright Tremaine (Seattle office), is an international corporate law attorney who was based in China for 12 years. Fluent in Mandarin Chinese, Fraser has been recognized by AsiaLaw as a “Leading Lawyer” in Asia in the fields of eCommerce, IT & eCommerce, Information Technology, and IT & Telecommunications.

Fraser Mendel

About Davis Wright Tremaine’s China Practice

In 1993, Davis Wright Tremaine became the first U.S. law firm authorized to open a law office in Shanghai. Lawyers in their Shanghai and U.S. offices work together closely, giving clients the flexibility of working with lawyers in their own time zone.

Davis Wright Tremaine represents regional and multinational companies in traditional manufacturing and service industries. They also represent many clients in newly opening industries, including distribution, retailing, new technology, Internet and media, e-commerce, environmental and clean technology, financial and professional services, advertising, real estate, construction, health care, and investment funds.

Q: When did you become interested in China?

A: In 1984, during my first year at Pomona College in California, I began studying Chinese and fell in love with the language. That was my entrée to all things China. I earned a Bachelor of Arts in Asian Studies with a focus on China.

While I was in college I spent a summer studying in Taiwan. During that trip, I decided I wanted to return to Taiwan. After graduating from college, I worked for a year in San Francisco and in 1989, I bought a ticket to Taiwan. I told myself that I’d return to the U.S. for law school after I was able to function at a professional level in Chinese.

Q: How did you expand your focus on China through your educational and career choices?

A: During the first two years I lived in Taiwan, I worked as a journalist for computer magazines. In 1991, I returned to my home in Seattle, where I earned a J.D. degree at the University of Washington School of Law and a Master of Arts degree in Chinese history.

While in graduate school I received two fellowships to undertake study and research during the summers of 1992 and 1993. I spent six months at National Taiwan University conducting graduate research on how constitutional interpretation had supported legal reform, and how legal reform had been closely connected with successful land reform.

In 1995, I attended New York University School of Law, where I earned an LL.M. (Master of Laws) in tax law. My studies focused heavily on China and on international business transactions.

Q: You moved to Beijing in 1996 and lived there for 12 years. What did you do there?

A: First, I worked as an attorney at a boutique legal consulting firm that specialized in representing international companies operating in highly regulated industries such as television broadcasting, satellite communications, and diamond mining. We helped clients figure out how to enter the China market and how to do business in China’s complex regulatory environment.

I then joined a Canadian law firm in Beijing and worked there for two years helping clients active in the telecommunications and infrastructure development sectors. In 2000, I joined the Beijing office of Morrison & Foerster, a large law firm based in San Francisco. During the eight years I worked with them, I focused on representing companies with significant intellectual property, such as technology companies, and building a venture capital financing practice in China.

In 2000, about 95 percent of my work was for international companies and 5 percent for Chinese companies operating outside of China.

Q: In 2008 you moved back to Seattle. Why?

A: I returned to Seattle for a variety of personal and professional reasons. On the personal side, I wanted to make sure that my children had the opportunity to grow up in Seattle and the Pacific Northwest. While I love working in China, it is impossible to match the quality of life that Seattle offers with the mountains and ocean just minutes away, accompanied by being a vibrant arts, music and entertainment center.

On the professional side, I was working with a growing number of Chinese companies that were setting up subsidiaries in the U.S. or were acquiring U.S. companies – either because they wanted to acquire the technology or they wanted to enter the U.S. market without having to build everything from the ground up. It seemed like the logical thing to move back to Seattle and help my Chinese clients expand their operations in the U.S., while of course continuing to assist U.S. companies operating internationally. A large part of my work continues to involve mergers & acquisitions, venture capital financing, and technology transactions.

Because of my experience in China, I have become heavily involved in Washington State’s international business community, which is very focused on doing business with China. I am the Vice Chairman of the Washington State China Relations Council, the oldest business organization in North America focused on expanding business relations with China. We work with many American companies operating in China, and many Chinese companies coming to Washington State.

I am also actively involved at the Board level with the Trade Development Alliance, Washington Council on International Trade, and the Asia Business Forum, all of which are actively working to encourage trade and investment between China and Washington State.

Q: You joined Davis Wright Tremaine as a partner in 2011. Although your practice is based in Seattle, do you still travel to China?

A: While I am based in Seattle, almost all the work that I do is cross-border. I have U.S. clients doing projects in China, and Chinese clients doing projects in the U.S. This means that I travel to China six-to-eight times a year to meet with clients and participate in meetings in China. Having reasonable Mandarin Chinese language ability, and being familiar with Chinese business customs and how deals are done in China, it is easier for me to represent Chinese businesspeople who are doing deals in the U.S.

Q: Is being fluent in Chinese a key selling point for Davis Wright Tremaine’s China practice?

A: Definitely. We have an office in Shanghai with a dozen Chinese attorneys who are fluent in Chinese and English. I also work with Chinese attorneys (who have attained U.S. law degrees) in Seattle, Portland, San Francisco, and Los Angeles. Because we have attorneys in both China and the U.S. who are fluent in Chinese, we have an outstanding ability to represent Chinese companies.

Q: Davis Wright Tremaine is a respected name among international law firms, isn’t it?

A: We have over 20 years of experience doing business in China. Over years we’ve represented a variety of large, well-known American companies in industries from software to retail. We have also represented large Chinese companies such as CCTV – China Central Television – the national broadcaster in China. At the beginning of 2012, CCTV opened their first US broadcast center in Washington, D.C.

We also represent individual Chinese business professionals who are investing in the U.S. Our goal is to make it easier for Chinese businesspeople to interface with their American counterparts, and to assist Chinese companies with the intricacies of acquiring an American company.

One former partner from Davis Wright Tremaine who is quite well known in China is Gary Locke, the U.S. Ambassador to China, who joined our firm and was with us several years after completing his governorship of the State of Washington and before becoming U.S. Secretary of Commerce.

Q: How has your interest in computers influenced the type of law you practice?

A: I’ve been involved with computers all my life, and everything I have done has a strong technology focus, even when I was studying Chinese during college. During my legal career I have worked with many companies involved in the technology space, as well as companies that have a lot of intellectual property, ranging from computer and software companies to biotech and clean energy companies.

Q: What key difference you have noticed about business practices in China and the U.S.?

A: People in the U.S. have an implicit faith that the system “just works,” which means that everyone has the assumption that business transactions will go smoothly. Problems are an exception, and if something does go wrong, people expect that there is a fair, reasonable and straight-forward method to resolve the issue.

For example, if a U.S. company wants to sell $100,000 of widgets to another U.S. company, the seller would verify the purchasing company’s credit rating and then enter into a business relationship. The credit check is with a third-party independent company which makes it easy to know if the purchaser is a legitimate company. If there is a problem in the transaction, a businessman knows that the legal system provides straight-forwards solutions to fix the problem.

In China, there is no simple third-party process for checking another company’s credit-rating, or even if that company is still formally in business. It is therefore necessary to spend resources before establishing a business relationship. The advantage to this method is generally that once a relationship has been established, transactions can be undertaken more quickly.

Companies accustomed to the U.S. system, which is transactionally efficient, often find doing business in China to be awkward and the cost of individual transactions to be higher. But in China, you need to invest time getting to know the potential business partner. U.S. businesses that go to China and don’t take time to get to know the customer or learn Chinese business practices often end up having high-risk transactions that fall apart.

Q: What advice can you offer to American companies concerned about enforcing their intellectual property rights in China?

A: It is challenging to enforce trademark rights and patents in China. As a result, a lot of American companies wonder, “Why should we waste the time and money to register a patent or trademark in China?”

In the U.S., we view our intellectual property as a sword – an offensive weapon that can be used to go after someone who is infringing on your rights. But registered intellectual property, like trademarks and patents, are also a shield that protects your intellectual property. While the legal regime protecting IP in China has been improving, there are still many problems and it can be difficult to proactively go after someone infringing your IP. However, if you don’t bother to register your trademark or patent in China and a Chinese company registers that intellectual property (that you own in the U.S.), the Chinese company can sue you for IP infringement and you won’t be able to sell your product in China.

Bottom line: If you don’t register your trademarks or patents in China, you don’t have the rights to them in China.

Q: Please share one of your favorite stories about living and working in China.

A: I remember when I was a 19-year-old college student, standing on a street corner in Taipei, Taiwan. The weather was hot and humid. I was lost. I didn’t speak Chinese very well. I had a map and was trying to find a bus route so I could get to school, when a businessman wearing a suit approached me. His English wasn’t much better than my Chinese, but he asked, “Can I help you?”

He took me two city blocks to the bus stop. He led me onto the bus and told the bus driver to tell me where to get off the bus. Then he paid my bus fare. I thought, “What’s going on? This man is so nice to do all this for me when it’s 95 degrees with 95 percent humidity… and he’s wearing a suit!”

I know many people who have been to Taiwan with similar stories. Last year, my wife and I were shopping for a car in Seattle. The car salesman was from Beijing – he’d gone to school in Seattle and was now working at the dealership. He and his wife had recently traveled to Taipei to visit her family. It was his first trip to Taiwan.

He decided to visit the National Palace Museum on his own. And like me, he wound up standing on a street corner with a map in hand, trying to figure out where to go. A passing businessman asked him if he was lost, and then took him a block and a half to the light rail station and showed him where to buy a ticket.

The car salesman and I share the same story, separated by almost 30 years. That story is a snapshot of what you encounter when visiting China… you are treated as a welcome guest.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (2 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *