Tay Yoshitani 196

西雅图港首席执行官Tay Yoshitani讲述西雅图港在华盛顿州经济中的领导作用

“西雅图港为西雅图-贝尔优乃至整个华盛顿州创造了20万的就业机会,发放了70亿美元的工资。”

-Tay Yoshitani, 西雅图港首席执行官

2007年3月,Tay Yoshitani加入西雅图港成为首席执行官。他负责执行港口管理委员会制定的政策,领导港口的运营机构,包括全国第六大货柜港、西雅图-塔科马国际机场,该机场2011年客流量超过3280万人次。

2004年至2007年,Yoshitani先生担任海滨雇主协会高级顾问,提供关于港口安全和环境问题的专业知识。2001年至2004年,他曾担任奥克兰港执行董事,领导了海港和机场的大规模扩张,监督环境许可和规划,确保机场扩展采用“绿色建筑”技术。1998年至2001年,他曾担任奥克兰港副执行主任。1995年至1998年,他在马里兰港口管理局担任执行主任。1989年至1995年,他在洛杉矶港担任副执行主任职务,负责美国西海岸最大的干散货出口码头的创建。

Yoshitani先生是一名美军老兵,从美国西点军校获得理学学士学位,在哈佛商学院获得工商管理硕士学位。他是美国国家亚太经合组织中心董事会成员,也是西雅图公民与贸易相关组织的董事会成员。

西雅图港的主要业务是什么?

西雅图港成立于1911年,经营空中和海上运输相关业务。西雅图港拥有并经营着西雅图 – 塔科马国际机场、四个集装箱码头、两个邮轮码头、四个公共游艇码头、一个粮食码头,还管理一些房地产资产。

为了加强西雅图港的发展,在我的领导下,西雅图港在西雅图-塔科马国际机场开辟了一条新跑道,在史密斯湾邮轮码头新建邮轮设施,并重建30号码头作为集装箱码头。作为一项战略决策,我们新成立了房地产部,以便更好地管理机构的房地产资产,并成立资金发展部将港口的许多资金发展项目统一到该部门,负责监督所有的建设和采购。我们还成功实施了空气质量倡议,投资了环境整治项目,并进行了几个规模很大的节能和回收项目。

东海岸最近的飓风灾害有没有让您思考西雅图港的作用和它的脆弱?

很多人不能很好理解 “货源”在全球经济中的作用。人们只有在感受到它的影响时才想到货源问题。比如日本福岛危机发生时,我们深刻感受到货源(短缺)的影响。又如飓风桑迪对纽约港、新泽西港及其他该地区港口的影响也非常大。

当一个主要物流枢纽的业务中断,全球其他枢纽要担负起责任,保证人员和货物的顺畅流动。这是一个挑战,我们已做好准备应对危机到来。港口、运营商和其他相关公司会共同参与损失评估并进行调整,激活冗余的系统,重新进行线路规划。

您是否想过西雅图港有哪些需要改善?

西雅图港的配置是最先进的。比如,我们的起重机是世界上最好的,由中国上海的振华港机制造。我们所做的一切都采用最新技术。新技术让物流链中的所有参与者能很好的交流,在需要的地方整合或配置信息,为客户提供第一流的飞行服务,当货船停在港口时提供高效的装载和调整服务。

高科技为我们提供了建立规则和协议的工具,形成了一个真正的全球网络系统。我们的软件操作系统由微软提供,美国装卸服务公司(SSA)等则提供了程序。

全球网络和科技是复杂的,有许多变量要考虑。寻找更新更好的方式应对未知的突发事件是一种挑战。

更重要的是,我们的目标是在灾难或紧急事件发生时挽救生命。保护人的生命比保护资产或恢复更重要。

您是怎么进入这个行业的?

我年轻时并没有想过会进入港口业。进入该行业前,我正在洛杉矶的一家商业房产公司为洛杉矶港工作。那时我的理解是,管理港口和管理房地产业务很像。我们设计、建造、营销和管理的房地产包括码头、停车场、租借地等等。

您会如何描述您的领导风格?

我鼓励我的员工思考商业的本质,思考我们能为客户提供何种价值。我面临的挑战是如何平衡各种利益冲突, 更好地发展业务和区域经济。我努力将合适的人放在合适的岗位。有了正确的规则和程序,企业可以信任我们的决策过程和分配制度。

这也是西雅图港建立社会责任办公室的原因。该办公室旨在确保小企业、少数族裔企业和妇女拥有的企业有公平的机会为港口工作。这是我作为西雅图港首席执行官的一项关键成就。

您会如何向中国人描述西雅图港的领导力,或是西雅图港在华盛顿州经济中所起到的重要作用?

西雅图港是普吉特湾地区和整个华盛顿州的经济引擎。我们在北美各港口中独一无二,因为我们有很多业务线,包括海港、机场、游轮业务、北太平洋捕捞船队、粮食码头。很少有港口像西雅图港一样能处理这么多不同类型的与国际贸易相关的业务。

我们也是离中国最近的主要美国港口。中远集团、中国海运和韩进海运(韩国)都在使用西雅图港。达美航空和海南航空运营直飞中国的航班。我们希望在未来五年有更多运营商增加更多到中国的航班。我们与中国的业务关系日益增强。两年前,中国超越日本成为我们最大的贸易伙伴,目前53%的集装箱运输与中国有关。

我们的发展与中国的发展息息相关。我们需要中美双方强劲的经济发展来保持各自国家的就业稳定和经济繁荣。我们寻求很多方式来加强这种彼此联系。比如,西雅图港和贝尔优市在2008年与大连市签订贸易合作协议。

西雅图港为西雅图-贝尔优乃至整个华盛顿州创造了20万的就业机会,发放了70亿美元的工资。

什么是发展西雅图港的重点?

未来25年,西雅图港的“世纪议程”希望通过经济增长新增10万个就业岗位,并成为国家最环保节能的港口。我们希望把我们的区域建设成世界一流的物流枢纽。

为了实现这些目标,我们需要完成几件事:

• 港口年集装箱吞吐量增长到超过350万个标准货柜(TEUs)(1个TEU代表1个长20英尺的集装箱货运量)

• 推进本地区成为领先的旅游目的地和国际旅游的商业门户

• 促进小企业成长和生产力发展。

• 满足所有增加的能源需求,通过保护和可再生能源,降低空气污染和碳排放量。

成长面临着竞争,这意味着我们要建设好基础设施来更好地运输货物。西雅图港为大船的到来做好了准备,我们的一个码头,SSA 18号码头有三架超级后巴拿马型(Super Post Panamax )起重机,能处理未来10年上线的新一类集装箱船。

同时,我们也密切关注其他西海岸和北美港口的动态。我们需要通过不断了解他们的能力和增长计划,来了解我们自己在全球体系中的角色,并站在最有竞争力的位置。比如,了解到墨西哥港和加拿大港希望在北美贸易增长中增加自己的市场份额对我们来说就很重要。

西海岸港口也面临着来自其他美国港口的挑战。比如东海岸港口的增长速度超过了美国港口发展的整体速度。2015年巴拿马运河扩建完成,将会提高远洋货轮在亚洲-东海岸航线部署更大型船的能力。东海岸港口会和西海岸港口争夺驶往美国中西部和东部的货轮。

您会如何向别人描述西雅图-贝尔优地区的优势?

这里有优美的自然风光,和国际多样性的文化。企业和政府通力合作,投资教育、交通基础设施、新技术、贸易和商业发展。对于西雅图港来说,我们的“世纪议程”显示,我们希望成为这些伙伴关系中牵头的投资者。

我们有巨大的资源和技术人才,以及对这一地区的承诺。我们丰富的资源比如国际多样性,让一切成为可能。

更多信息

请浏览我们的网站www.portseattle.org 或联系西雅图港务局媒体关系部门。

世纪议程

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 4.00 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Tay Yoshitani 196

Port of Seattle CEO Tay Yoshitani Explains Port’s Leadership Role in Washington’s Economy

“The port’s operations create nearly 200,000 jobs and $7 billion in wages throughout Seattle-Bellevue and Washington State.”
~Tay Yoshitani, CEO, Port of Seattle

Tay Yoshitani joined the Port of Seattle as its CEO in March 2007. He carries out policies set by the Port Commission. He leads the Port’s operating divisions, including the 6th largest container port in the nation, and Seattle-Tacoma International Airport, which welcomed more than 32.8 million passengers in 2011.

From 2004 to 2007, Yoshitani served as Senior Advisor to the National Association of Waterfront Employers, providing industry expertise on port security and environmental issues. From 2001 to 2004, as Executive Director of the Port of Oakland, he led a significant expansion of both the seaport and airport, overseeing environmental permitting and planning that enabled the airport expansion to use “green building” technology. He served as Oakland’s Deputy Executive Director from 1998 to 2001. He is credited with creating the first master plan at the Maryland Port Administration, where he served as Executive Director from 1995 to 1998. As Deputy Executive Director of the Port of Los Angeles, 1989 to 1995, he oversaw the creation of the West Coast’s largest dry bulk export terminal.

Yoshitani is a US Army veteran and Bachelor of Science graduate of the United States Military Academy at West Point. He earned his MBA at Harvard Graduate School of Business Administration. He serves on the National Center for APEC Board and on the boards of Seattle civic and trade-related organizations.

Q: What are the primary business lines of the Port of Seattle?

A: Founded in 1911, the Port of Seattle has both air and sea transportation-related business lines. The Port owns and operates Seattle-Tacoma International Airport, four container cargo terminals, two cruise ship terminals, four public marinas, a grain terminal, and manages a number of real estate assets.

To enhance that, under my leadership, the Port has opened a new runway at Sea-Tac Airport, a new cruise facility at Smith Cove Cruise Terminal, and reopened Terminal 30 as a container facility.

As a strategic decision, we created a Real Estate division to better manage the organization’s real estate holdings and consolidated the Port’s many capital development projects into one division that oversees all construction and procurement. We also implemented successful air quality initiatives, invested in environmental remediation projects, and put in place several ambitious energy-saving and recycling programs.

Q: How has the recent hurricane disaster on the East Coast made you think about the role of the Port of Seattle and its vulnerabilities?

A: One thing most people don’t understand well is the role of “sourcing” in the global economy. However, everyone feels its impact when there is a sourcing problem. We learned it dramatically when Japan’s Fukushima disaster occurred. Hurricane Sandy’s impact on New York, New Jersey, and other ports in that region will be a similarly large impact.

When a major logistics hub has its business disrupted, the rest of the global system has to pick up the responsibility to keep people and goods moving through the entire system. That’s a challenge, but we plan for this and all work together during a crisis. Ports, carriers and all other related businesses take part in assessments of damage, adjustments, and activating redundant systems and re-routing.

Q: Does it cause you to think about improvements you need to make at the Port of Seattle?

A: The Port of Seattle is already state-of-the-art. For example, our cranes are the best in the world, manufactured by ZPMC of Shanghai, China. The latest technology is ingrained in everything we do. This technology allows all the players in the logistics chain an ability to communicate, to integrate or interface their information where needed, to provide top flight services, efficient loading and adjustments as ships stop in five different ports on their journey.

The technology gives us the means to establish rules and protocols that make the global network a true system. The software operating system is from Microsoft. Stevedoring Services of America (SSA) and others provide the programming.

The global network and technology that backs it up is sophisticated but also complex. There are so many variables to consider. Raising standards for the unseen emergency is a challenge.

Most importantly, the goal is to save lives in the event of a disaster or emergency. It is much more about human lives than it is about protecting assets or recovery.

Q: How did you come into this business?

A: I didn’t envision this as my career when I was younger. I was recruited while working in the commercial real estate business in Los Angeles to work for the Port of Los Angeles. It was a good fit. As I understood then, managing a port is basically a real estate business. We design, build, market, and manage real estate, including terminals, parking, concessions, and all the other elements we coordinate.

Q: How would you describe your leadership style?

A: I encourage my staff to think about the nature of the business and, of course, what value we provide at each end of the business. Then, the challenges are to create a fair balance between competing interests and to better grow businesses and the region whose success is part of our success. We strive to do this as objectively as possible. I work hard to put the right people in the right roles. With the correct rules and procedures, businesses can trust the decision process and system of allocation.

That is also the reason we established the Port of Seattle’s Office of Social Responsibility. It works to ensure equal opportunities for small, minority and women-owned businesses to work with the Port. It is a key accomplishment of my time as CEO.

Q: How would you explain the importance of the Port of Seattle’s leadership or its role in Washington’s economy to someone from China?

A: The Port of Seattle acts as economic engine for not only the Puget Sound region, but the entire state of Washington. We are unique among North American ports in that we have many lines of business; the seaport, an airport, cruise business, home to the North Pacific Fishing Fleet, and a grain terminal. Few ports handle so many different businesses that have international trade implications.

We are also the closest major US port to China. COSCO, China Shipping, and Hanjin Shipping (Korea) use the Port of Seattle. Delta and Hainan Airlines operate direct flights to China. We expect more carriers to add more flights to China in the next five years. Our business relationship with China grows stronger every day. Two years ago, China surpassed Japan as our number one trading partner and now accounts for 53% of container activity.

China’s growth is tied to our growth. We need strong economies on both sides of the Pacific to maintain jobs and prosperity in our respective countries. We seek many ways of strengthening those ties. For example, that is why the Port of Seattle and City of Bellevue both signed trade cooperation agreements with Dalian in 2008.

The port’s operations create nearly 200,000 jobs and $7 billion in wages throughout Seattle-Bellevue and Washington State. The ultimate standard is jobs. Just as with emergency and disaster situations, the test of our success is how we affect human lives.

Q: What are your priorities in growing the Port of Seattle?

A: Over the next 25 years, the port’s Century Agenda seeks to create an additional 100,000 jobs through economic growth while becoming the nation’s most environmentally “green” and energy-efficient port. We will also grow our region as a premier international logistics hub.

In order to achieve this goal, we need to accomplish several things:

  • Grow seaport annual container volume to more than 3.5 million TEUs (one TEU represents the cargo capacity of a 20-foot intermodal container).
  • Advance our region as a leading tourism destination and business gateway for international travel.
  • Promote small business growth and workforce development.
  • Meet all increased energy needs through conservation and renewable sources, reducing air pollutants and carbon emissions.

In order to grow, we need to compete, and that means having the infrastructure in place to move freight. The Port of Seattle is ‘big ship ready’, having one of our terminals, SSA’s T-18 taking delivery of six Super Post Panamax cranes, that can handle the new class of container ships coming on-line in the next 10 years.

However, we keep an eye on other West Coast and North American ports. We constantly need to understand their capabilities and growth plans, so that we understand our roles in the global system and stay the most competitive port possible. For example, it’s important to understand that Mexican and Canadian ports want to increase their market share as North American trade grows.

West Coast ports also face challenges from other US ports: East Coast ports have been growing at a rate faster than US ports as a whole. When the Panama Canal expansion is completed in 2015, it will improve the ability of ocean carriers to deploy larger ships in the Asia – East Coast trade lane. East Coast ports then will seek to compete with West Coast ports for cargo destined for markets in the Midwest and eastern US.

Q: What else would you tell someone about the advantages of the Seattle-Bellevue region?

A: The natural beauty is matched by the international diversity of cultures here. This luxury of comparative perspectives of living and business opens up a world of opportunity.

In addition, businesses and government work together as partners, by investing in education, transportation infrastructure, new technologies, trade cooperation, and business development. For the Port of Seattle, the Century Agenda shows how much we want to be a leading investor in that partnership.

I think we have incredible resources, technology talent, and promise in this region. Our incredible richness of assets, including our international diversity, makes many things possible.

MORE INFORMATION

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 4.00 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *