UW logo

华盛顿大学介绍

华盛顿大学创建于1861年,是美国最早成立的高等教育机构之一,以研究、教学和公共服务为使命。

有多大的规模?

它由3个校区组成:西雅图波塞尔(Bothell) 和 塔科马(Tacoma),共49000名学生,包括近34000名本科生和15000名研究生和专业学生。华盛顿大学的教育推广部扩大了其在国内外的知名度,它每年招收超过48000名学生,提供数百门专业课程、证书和学位课程。华盛顿大学在美国研究型大学中是远程教学的领导者,提供相当数量的远程课程,每年招收12300名学生。

目前,我们在贝尔优开设了新的领导力MBA项目(http://www.uwb.edu/mba/lmba),该项目与贝尔优及其周边地区的科技公司有着很强的联系。

华盛顿大学的教学和研究由一个全美首屈一指的图书馆系统支持,这个系统由5个部分和18个分支组成,包括华大位于塔科马和波塞尔校区的图书馆,总共收藏着超过5百万册图书。除了提供100多门专业课程的教学,华盛顿大学也提供广泛的继续教育课程,为人们增长专业知识技能、丰富人生提供机会。

Q: 华盛顿大学取得了哪些成就?

A:  我们是美国公立大学中得到联邦政府研究经费最多的大学。据《经济学人》报道,一份最新的由上海交通大学编制的排名显示,华盛顿大学是全球排名第十六位的研究型大学。

华盛顿大学的教师中,有6名诺贝尔奖获得者,68名美国科学院院士,68名美国艺术科学院院士,51名美国国家医学院院士,18名美国工程院院士,10名盖尔德纳国际奖获得者,5名拉斯克医学研究奖获得者,4名国家科学奖得主,和14名麦克阿瑟奖获得者。华盛顿大学是美国研究型大学精英集团的一部分,对美国的贡献独特,尤为重视发展基础科学,为实践创新打下基础。

在过去的40年里,华盛顿大学已跻身全美前五所获联邦研究经费和授予教师合同最多的机构之一。从1974年开始,华大成为获得联邦政府研究和培训奖项最多的公立学校。2011年华盛顿大学的全部经费和合同资金高达15亿美元,其中70%来自联邦机构。所有的资金将直接用于研究生、专业培训学生以及本科生的教育目标。

Q: 华盛顿大学和中国有什么联系和项目吗?

A: 华盛顿大学和中国有很多的联系和项目。其中一些项目在华盛顿大学校园内,另一些则在中国的大学和机构里。

目前华盛顿大学共有26个交换学生和学者项目,中国的合作院校包括北京大学、清华大学、上海交通大学和复旦大学。这些交流项目有助于促进院校、学者们之间的文化理解,建立持久的联系,为将来进一步的教学和其他合作打下基础。

华盛顿大学特别和位于成都的四川大学有着密切的合作关系,华盛顿州和四川省是“姐妹省(州)”。华大的建筑环境学院和景观设计系同四川大学合作,发展生态友好型建筑、文化保护、流域管理和可持续旅游等。

从2003年开始华盛顿大学和一些其他中国机构合作,比如中国疾病预防中心,致力于爱滋病问题的研究、以及在传染病早期诊断和疫情控制方面的资源和信息共享。

华盛顿大学还有很多项目有助于促进和发展同中国的关系。比如“中国研究”项目旨在向学生提供关于中国历史、社会、政治、语言等方面的广泛知识。该项目在全美名列前茅,有强大的师资团队,以及华大东亚图书馆所提供的文献图书支持。

东亚图书馆已经多次收到来自中国国家图书馆“中国之窗”项目的捐赠,自2006年以来,捐赠图书超过5000册。华盛顿大学还和西雅图公立学校及中国教育部旗下的非营利机构“汉办”合作,于2010年共同创建了“孔子学院”。该学院旨在促进双方更多的文化理解,加强语言技能培养,以及加强中国和美国教育机构之间的教育和文化交流。

位于华盛顿大学西雅图主校区的“数码传媒专业”(Masters in Digital Media Communications, MDMC)(http://mcdm.washington.edu/)   专注于信息科技发达时代中交流的新艺术。MDMC是BellevueCN.com的合作伙伴之一,其在发展全球市场、特别是中国的社会媒体和搜索引擎战略方面起到关键作用。

更多信息,请访问www.washington.edu。 或在BellevueCN.com阅读华盛顿大学迈克·杨校长的专访。

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...

One thought on “华盛顿大学介绍

  1. Pingback: Michael Young, University of Washington President (Q&A)

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

UW logo

Profile of the University of Washington

Founded in 1861, the University of Washington is one of the foremost institutions of higher education in the United States, richly combining its research, instructional and public service missions.

Q:   How large is the University of Washington?

The UW student body at its three campuses in Seattle, Bothell and Tacoma totals about 49,000, with an undergraduate enrollment of nearly 34,000 and a graduate and professional student enrollment of approximately 15,000. UW Educational Outreach, extending the resources of the UW domestically and internationally, enrolls over 48,000 students a year in hundreds of courses and certificate and degree programs. The UW is a leader of distance education among research institutions in the U.S., offering significant distance learning programs with an annual enrollment of 12,300.

The new Leadership MBA Program located in Bellevue has a strong connection to technology companies in Bellevue and the surrounding area.

Instruction and research at Washington are supported by a library system that is one of the most extensive in the nation, consisting of five major units and 18 branches, as well as libraries at UW Tacoma and UW Bothell, together housing more than five million volumes. In addition to offering instruction in more than 100 academic disciplines, the university offers a spectrum of continuing education courses that advance technical and professional skills and provide opportunities for personal growth and enrichment.

Q:  What are some of the University’s distinguishing accomplishments?

A:  UW is the top recipient among U.S. public universities of federal government funds for research. According to a recent ranking by Shanghai Jiao Tong University published in the Economist, UW ranks as the 16th best research university in the world.

The UW faculty has 6 Nobel Prize winners, 68 members in the National Academy of Sciences, 68 members in the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 51 members in the Institute of Medicine, 18 members of the National Academy of Engineering, 10 recipients of the Gairdner International Award, 5 Albert Lasker Medical Research Award recipients, 4 National Medal of Science Winners, and 14 MacArthur Fellows. Washington is part of an elite group of research universities whose contributions to American life are unique because they generate the basic knowledge upon which practical innovations are based.

For over 40 years, the university has been among the country’s top five institutions in the dollar value of federal research grants and contracts awarded to its faculty.  Each year since 1974, the University has been the top public university in America in receipt of federal awards for research and training. Total grant and contract activity for 2011 was more than $1.5 billion. Seventy percent of the university’s grant and contract funds come from federal agencies. Research contributes directly to the educational goals of graduate and professional students, as well as to those of undergraduates.

Q: Does the UW have any existing programs or relationships with China?

A: The University of Washington has many existing programs and relationships with China. Some of these programs exist on the UW campuses as well as at universities and institutions throughout China.

Currently the UW has 26 exchange student and scholar programs, many with the top institutions in China such as Peking University in Beijing, Shanghai Jiao Tong University in Shanghai, Fudan University in Shanghai and Tsinghua University in Beijing. These exchange programs help facilitate cultural understanding as well as create lasting bonds between our institutions, scholars, and programs. This often leads to future collaborations in teaching and other curriculum endeavors.

The UW also has a particularly close relationship with Sichuan University in Chengdu, due to the fact that State of Washington and Sichuan Province are sister states. The UW College of Built Environment and Department of Landscape Architecture have worked with Sichuan University to develop more ecologically friendly buildings, cultural preservation, watershed management and sustainable tourism.

Since 2003, the UW has also collaborated with several institutions such as China’s Center for Disease Control in addressing HIV/AIDS and the sharing of resources and information for early identification and control of outbreaks of infectious diseases.

There are also many programs here at the UW that help foster and develop opportunities with China. The UW has a world-class China Studies Program that is designed to give students a broad knowledge of the history, sociology, politics, and language of China. The China Studies Program is also recognized as one of the best in the country, with a strong faculty and is enhanced by the collection at the East Asia Library at the UW.

The East Asia Library has received numerous donations from the National Library of China under the “Window to China” program, which has donated more than 5,000 books since 2006. Due to the collaborative culture of our state, the UW in cooperation with the Seattle Public schools, and Hanban, a Chinese nonprofit group affiliated with China’s Ministry of Education, established the Confucius Institute of the State of Washington in 2010. The Confucius Institute is devoted to facilitating greater cultural understanding and Chinese language skills as well as strengthening educational and cultural exchange cooperation between China and educational institutions.

Located at the University’s main campus, the Masters in Digital Media Communications Department (MDMC) specializes in the new arts of communications in a technology-driven world.  MDMC is a sponsor-partner in BellevueCN.com, providing a key role in determining the social media and search engine strategy for global markets, particularly China.

MORE INFORMATION

Please contact us at www.washington.edu.  Please also see the Cover Story interview with UW President Michael Young on BellevueCN.com.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...

One thought on “Profile of the University of Washington

  1. Pingback: Michael Young, University of Washington President (Q&A)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *