Scope 5 logo

Scope 5领导第二代可持续发展数据管理软件的变革

我们帮助企业更有效率地使用能源,让可持续发展项目对企业更有价值。

-Yoram Bernet, Scope 5 首席执行官

Scope 5公司高管团队在产品管理、工程、市场营销、业务发展和商业运营等众多领域有丰富的经验,他们曾就职于微软、英特尔、迪斯尼和贝尔实验室,以及30多个初始阶段科技创业公司。高管团队中有:首席执行官、联合创始人Yoram Bernet,负责收益与合作的副总裁、联合创始人John Daly,董事会成员/顾问David Billstrom。

Scope 5的产品特点是什么?

Scope 5帮助企业寻求基于网络、易于使用、且适于企业发展需要的解决方案。由于我们的软件、支持服务和定价模式的灵活性,我们的客户既有政府机关也有跨国公司。

我们的可持续发展数据管理软件是一个可靠且适应性强的平台,让企业能充分利用商业数据指标,改善成本、收益和风险管理。

具体而言,我们的软件做到了两点:

• 首先,它提高了企业捕捉、透明管理及报告可持续发展数据的能力。

• 其次,它支持不同类别的效率方案,包括能源、水、废品、燃料,及员工航空飞行、志愿服务时间、员工通勤等。

我们的软件帮助企业通过有效的数据报告来节约成本,证明他们在可持续发展上的努力确有成效。

可持续发展是一个国际性的大话题。

确实如此。企业不只被要求展示其可持续发展相关的指标,还必须开始跟踪和管理他们的供应链/供应商(例如在中国的工厂)。

我们的一大挑战是,“可持续发展”是一个国际通用的词语,可是即使在美国,这个词在不同的情况下,对不同的人意义不同。(点击此处了解西方国家寻求与中国供应链伙伴更有效合作的案例。)

您能给我们举几个国际范围的“可持续发展”报告的案例吗?

当然可以。这里有三个例子:

1. 碳信息披露项目:超过3000家世界最大的公司开始报告其温室气体排放(主要是来自投资者的压力,以及这些公司的主要客户希望他们报告、显示温室气体排放进度)。

2. 全球报告倡议 (Global Reporting Initiative, GRI):数以千计世界最大的公司都将GRI协议用于他们的可持续发展报告,其中许多公司创建了年度GRI报告,内容涵盖了环境和社会等广泛的话题,包括他们的“供应链成员”(如在中国的工厂)。

3. 英国近日宣布,英国所有公开上市的公司必须每年报告其温室气体排放量。

请解释“第一代”(Wave 1)和“第二代”(Wave 2)可持续发展数据管理软件之间的区别?

Scope 5公司领导着第二代可持续数据管理软件的发展,该软件适用于大中小型企业。

“第一代”可持续发展数据管理软件很复杂很昂贵。(点击此处查看我们关于此话题的博客)

很少有“第二代”软件像Scope 5一样。我们比电子表格(Spreadsheets)更好,同时比现有的大多数工具价格更低、更易使用。

我们早期的客户包括跨国公司世界500强企业、贝尔优市,以及其他需要数据管理的机构。

什么是Scope 5的成功战略?

我们对环境保护做出承诺,对企业如何更好地经营业务有敏锐的触角。我们帮助企业更有效率地使用能源,让其他可持续发展项目对企业更有价值。这是我们的原则也是我们的目标,是驱使我们前进的动力。

在华盛顿州设立公司如何有利于你们的业务?

华盛顿州有许多不同类型的企业和技术创新,涵盖无线技术、软件、可再生能源、航空航天、生物技术、医疗技术和全球健康等领域,改变着人们的生活和工作。

对于这些行业里的每个企业,提高能源效率以及减少运营费用都非常重要。许多公司明白,他们的效率以及可持续发展的努力将成为他们重要的竞争优势。

您看到您的公司在中国或亚洲其他地区有发展机会吗?

目前我们的重点是支持美国客户,包括在美国境外有设施的美国企业。随着这些企业的成长,他们需要我们的软件为不断扩大的企业规模以及日益复杂的企业业务提供支持,并跟踪新的商业机会。

这些企业中,许多是全球领军者,或正努力成为领军者。这意味着我们公司及其他像我们一样的公司将有无限的发展机会。这也是贝尔优-西雅图地区成为令人兴奋的创立和发展新公司的地方。

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Scope 5 logo

Scope 5: Leading a second wave of sustainability data management software

“Scope 5’s goal is to help make energy efficiency and other sustainability programs more valuable to organizations.

~Yoram Bernet, CEO, Scope 5

The Scope 5 executive team has experience in a variety of senior management roles in product management, engineering, marketing, business development and business operations at companies ranging from corporate (Microsoft, Intel, Disney, Bell Labs) to more than 30 early-stage technology start-ups. The Executive Team is Yoram Bernet: CEO, co-founder, John Daly: VP Revenue & Partnerships, co-founder, and David Billstrom: Board Member/Advisor.

Q: Please tell us about Scope 5’s products or special expertise.

A: Scope 5 supports organizations seeking web-based solutions that are easy to use and can adjust to their evolving needs. Due to the flexibility of our software, support and pricing models, our customers range from municipalities to multinational corporations.

Our sustainability data management software is a solid and adaptable platform that enables companies to do so much more with the business metrics. Scope 5 tools help organizations improve cost, revenue and risk management.
Specifically, our software accomplishes two things.

  • First, it improves a company’s ability to capture, transparently manage and report sustainability data.
  • Second, it supports efficiency programs ranging from energy, water, waste and fuel to employee airline travel, volunteerism hours and employee commuting.

When companies can demonstrate the cost savings that come with effective data reporting, it helps them justify their sustainability efforts.

Q: Sustainability is a huge topic internationally, isn’t it?

A: Definitely. Companies are not just being asked to demonstrate their sustainability-related metrics (reporting as well as improvement), but they must start tracking and managing their supply chains/vendors (e.g. factories in China).

One of our big challenges here is that “sustainability” is the term that is used internationally (click here for an example involving western countries seeking to more effectively work with Chinese supply chain partners), and even within the US the term means different things to different people in different contexts.

Q: Can you give us some examples of the international nature of “sustainability” reporting?

A: Certainly. Here are three examples:

  1. Carbon Disclosure Project: Over 3,000 of the world’s largest companies are reporting their greenhouse gas emissions (mainly due to investor pressure and the fact that their major customers expect them to report and show progress).
  2. Global Reporting Initiative: Again, thousands of the world’s largest companies are using the GRI’s protocols for sustainability reporting, and many of them are creating annual GRI reports that are quite extensive across environmental and social factors, including their *supply chain members* (e.g. factories in China).
  3. The UK recently announced that all publicly traded companies in the UK must annually report their greenhouse gas emissions.
Q: Please explain the difference between “Wave 1” and “Wave 2” sustainability data management software.

A: Scope 5 is leading a second wave of sustainability data management software that is accessible and adaptable for small, medium and large organizations.

There has been a first wave of sustainability data management tools that are very complex and costly (click here to see our blog post on this).

There are very few “wave 2″ tools like Scope 5. We are better than spreadsheets (a common way to get started) and more “accessible” than most existing tools in terms of cost and complexity.

Our early customers include multinational Fortune 500 companies and even the City of Bellevue – organizations that had a need to manage this data, evaluated wave 1 solutions and decided they needed a wave 2 option.

Q: What is a Scope 5’s success strategy?

A: We are personally committed to the environment and have a keen sense of what businesses need to better run their operations. We help make energy efficiency and other sustainability programs more valuable to organizations. That principle is also our goal. It is what drives us.

Q: How has being located in Washington State benefited your business?

A: There is so much variety in the types of businesses here and the innovations in technology. Washington companies change the way people live and work, from wireless technologies, to software, renewable energy, aerospace, bio-technology, medical technologies and global health.

For each of these businesses, energy efficiency and reducing the expense of operations has become very important. Many companies understand that their efficiency or sustainability efforts are providing a critical competitive advantage.

Q: What opportunities do you see for your business in China or other parts of Asia?

A: At present we are focused on supporting U.S. based customers, including organizations with facilities located outside of the States. As these businesses grow, they will need our software to support the growing size and complexity of their organizations and to keep track of new business opportunities.

Many of these businesses are global leaders or striving to become that. That means there will be an endless number of opportunities for our company and others like us to grow. It’s another reason why the Bellevue-Seattle region is an exciting place to start and grow a business.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *