Stoel Rives logo196

富励律师事务所中国团队:帮助中美公司寻找机遇

“富励律师事务所已经与中国的商业和法律界发展了广泛的业务联系,对此我们非常自豪。多年来,我们一直与众多希望在美国投资或经商的中国客户合作。最近,我们非常高兴地协助了那些希望发展中国市场的美国公司和投资者,帮助他们寻找新商业机遇。”
-马艾龙,富励律师事务所主席和合伙人

Alan R. Merkle

Alan R. Merkle

100年以来,富励律师事务所(Stoel Rives LLP)一直致力于为那些计划向美国投资或在美国经商的公司提供法律服务。富励律师事务所所有的办事处都沿美国西海岸和美国西部分布,在处理中美两国的法律事务方面,富励律师事务所积累了丰富的经验。

富励律师事务所中国服务部的主要业务是什么?

我们尽全力为那些寻求扩大北美市场的中国公司提供全方位的服务解决方案。我们还与美国客户合作解决各种中国跨境问题,包括组建境外企业、项目及贸易融资、国际税收、出口许可证和法律合规、兼并和收购、技术许可、知识产权保护和执法、外包等问题。

Mike Mangelson Stoel Rives

Mike Mangelson

富励律师事务所的合伙人及中国服务团主席孟望诚(Mike Mangelson)先生向我们提及知识产权战略。他分享了他的中英文演讲,题为:“成功的商标战略和中国企业海外品牌保护:来自最新的美国的经验教训”。

演讲:

富励律师事务所为希望前往或正在中国经商的美国华盛顿州企业提供哪些服务?

在中国协商谈判新的业务关系是一项复杂的工作,包含了一系列的财政、法规、合同和文化挑战。富励律师事务所的中国律师团会在众多领域提供丰富的法律意见。

我们是美国客户在和中国律师事务所打交道时的中介机构。比如,我们协助美国能源公司根据美中两国政府的能源政策发展他们在中国的商业战略。我们为他们提供法律咨询和服务,并制定知识产权组合管理策略。

我们的中国律师团代表客户收购和出售公司、买进产业、重组和重建企业、融资和创办企业。我们也向美国和中国客户提出法律建议并洽谈进出口的国际许可和分销协议。此外,我们要确保客户企业符合各种美国出口法律,包括技术转让和许可,并确保企业遵守美国“反海外腐败法”条例。

富励事务所的中国执业律师在哪些行业有经验?

我们的中国律师团执业律师可以为中国公司或总部设在美国的、来自任何行业的公司提供法律咨询。我们现在的客户许多来自于清洁技术、消费类电子产品、电脑配件、能源与可再生能源、食品饮料、鞋类、药品、营养补充剂、自然资源和户外产品行业。

富励律师事务所中国律师团为华盛顿州的公司开展中国业务提供什么优势服务?

首先,我们拥有精通中英文双语的律师,他们曾在中国工作和生活过一段时间,所以非常熟悉和了解如何高效而成功地驾驭中国商业文化。

此外,我们的客户受益于一个跨领域的律师团队。我们的中国律师团向客户提供 广泛的国内国际法律的咨询,包括公司法、知识产权事宜、进出口法规、经营一家海外分支机构的相关税务规定,以及代表美国客户和中国律师事务所打交道。

您对计划向中国市场进军的美国企业有何建议?

我们对计划进军中国或在中国发展伙伴关系的公司有五点建议:

  1. 认识到“关系”的重要性。 发展良好的人脉关系,和口碑好的知名人物/公司合作,他们能在许多领域帮助你的公司在中国开展业务,包括避免或解决法律问题。
  2. 仔细选择并密切关注你的中国制造商和业务合作伙伴。
  3. 控制生产过程,用完善的合同和良好的商业行为保护你的商业机密。
  4. 合同要采用书面形式,合同的成功签署并不意味着合作的终点。
  5. 注重知识产权所有权概念,将知识产权保护作为整个中国团队的责任。这包括,清楚地了解你的公司拥有什么知识产权,以及如何在中国保护你的知识产权。记得要积极主动、尽早、防御性地注册知识产权。同时别忘了实时监控你的知识产权,及时发现侵权行为,防患于未然。

能否给我们提供几个富励律师事务所帮助美国公司和中国打交道的例子?

我们已经为在中国做生意的美国公司提供了各种法律服务。我们曾代表一所美国大学就达成营销代理协议与一家中国公司进行谈判,这次谈判的目的旨在在北京建立一个常设办事处,常年招收中国学生。

我们曾代表一家便携式电脑配件制造商,就在中国制造和销售笔记本电脑外壳和配件事宜进行谈判交易,并帮助他们处理与这些产品的知识产权相关的问题。

我们也曾代表多家膳食补充剂和运动补充剂生产企业和经销商,就在中国采购原料、制造和销售膳食补充剂事宜进行谈判交易,并帮助他们处理与这些产品的知识产权相关的问题。

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Stoel Rives logo196

Stoel Rives China Practice: Helping Chinese Companies that Seek to Expand Their Presence in North America

“We pride ourselves on the extensive business contacts we have developed with the Chinese business and legal community. Over the years, we have worked with numerous Chinese clients seeking to invest or do business in the United States.

More recently, we have been pleased to assist U.S. companies and investors seeking to gain access to new business opportunities available in China’s rapidly expanding domestic markets.”
– Alan R. Merkle, Stoel Rives Chairman and Partner

Alan R. Merkle

Alan R. Merkle

For more than 100 years, Stoel Rives LLP has offered legal services to companies planning to invest or do business in the United States. With offices all along the U.S. west coast, and throughout the western U.S., Stoel Rives offers a wealth of experience in United States-China relationships.

Q: Alan, what services does the Stoel Rives China Practice offer?

A: We provide full-service solutions for Chinese companies seeking to expand their presence in North America. We also work with U.S. clients on various China cross-border issues, including the structuring of overseas ventures, project and trade financing, international tax, export licensing and compliance with overseas regulation, mergers and acquisitions, technology licensing, intellectual property protection and enforcement, and outsourcing.

Mike Mangelson, a Partner at Stoel Rives LLP and Chair of the firm’s China Group, speaks regularly on IP strategies.

Mike Mangelson Stoel Rives

Mike Mangelson

He generously offered to share his presentation (in both Chinese and English), titled, “Successful Trademark Strategies and Lessons Learned for Chinese Companies Protecting Their Brands Overseas: Insights from Recent U.S. Cases.”

Q: What specific services does Stoel Rives offer to Washington-based businesses wishing to or currently conducting business in China?

A: Exploring and negotiating new business relationships in China is a complex undertaking and contains a series of financial, regulatory, contractual and cultural challenges. The Stoel Rives China attorneys offer informed and sophisticated legal advice in many of these areas.

We serve as intermediary for U.S. clients in their dealings with Greater China law firms. We assist U.S. energy clients in developing China business strategies through U.S./China government energy initiatives. We advise on and structure intellectual property portfolio management strategies.

Our China attorneys advise on, structure and negotiate the purchase and sale of businesses, buy-outs, reorganizations, financings, and business entity formation issues. We also advise on and negotiate international licensing and distribution agreements for U.S. and Chinese clients in both an inbound and an outbound context.

Further, we advise on and implement compliance with various U.S. export laws, including technology transfers and licensing, along with the protocols necessary to ensure compliance with the U.S. Foreign Corrupt Practices Act.

Q: What industries does your China Practice Attorneys have experience in?

A: Our China Practice Attorneys can counsel China or U.S.-based companies operating in any industry. Many of our current clients operate in the Cleantech, Consumer Electronics, Computer Accessories, Energy & Renewable Energy, Food & Beverage, Footwear, Pharmaceuticals, Nutritional Supplements, Natural Resources and Outdoor Product industries.

Q: What advantage does the Stoel Rives China Practice offer to Washington-based companies doing business in China?

A: The Stoel Rives China practice attorneys offer Washington-based companies doing business in China a couple of key advantages. First, several of our attorneys are bilingual and have worked and lived in China, so they are very familiar and knowledgeable on how to efficiently and successfully navigate the business culture in China.

Also, our clients benefit from a multidisciplinary team of attorneys. Our China attorneys counsel clients on a wide range of domestic and international legal subjects ranging from corporate law and intellectual property matters, importing and exporting regulations, tax requirements associated with operating a foreign subsidiary, to serving as an intermediary for U.S. clients in their dealing with Greater China law firms.

Q: What tips would you provide to businesses planning to expand to China?

A: Below are five tips that company executives should keep in mind when planning an expansion to China, or developing partnerships in China:

  1. Recognize the importance of relationships or “guanxi.” Remember that developing the right personal connections and aligning yourself with well-respected and well-known figures can help you in many areas of doing business in China, including avoiding and resolving legal issues.
  2. Carefully select and closely monitor your Chinese manufacturers and business partners.
  3. Control the production processes and use both contracts and good business practices to keep your trade secrets “secret.”
  4. Get your contracts in writing but remember that in China a signed contract is not considered to be the end of the conversation.
  5. Instill a sense of Intellectual Property (IP) ownership and make IP protection the responsibility of the entire China team. This includes developing a clear understanding of what IP rights you own as well as what and how you should protect them in China. China is a first to file jurisdiction, so remember to be proactive in registering early and defensively. And don’t forget to monitor your IP rights to discover infringements – to prevent is better than to cure.

Q: Can you give us examples of how you helped a U.S.-based company with its operations or business matters in China?

A: We have done a wide variety of projects for U.S.-based companies doing business in China. We represented a U.S. university in negotiating a marketing agency agreement with a Chinese firm involving the establishment of a permanent office in Beijing for purposes of recruiting Chinese students.

For a portable computer accessories manufacturer, we provided counsel on transactions and intellectual property relating to the manufacture and distribution of portable notebook cases and laptop computer accessories in China.

We’ve also represented multiple dietary and sports supplement manufacturers and distributors in transactions and intellectual property relating to sourcing raw ingredients, manufacturing and distributing dietary supplements in China.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *